President Joseph Biden The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington DC 20500

December 8 2021

Dear President Biden:

Following the identification of the Omicron variant by Botswana and South Africa, the U.S. along with several other governments announced travel bans targeting 8 Southern African countries.

This knee-jerk response has effectively punished the world-class scientific leadership in Botswana and South Africa because scientists in those countries identified and sequenced this variant first and decided to share those data immediately with the rest of the world.

Their selflessness has been met not with praise and gratitude but with racist and xenophobic travel bans that have no basis in evidence.

Although testing and surveillance of air travelers might be appropriate, selective travel bans are ineffectual and punishing to the targeted countries. Of note, there is already documented evidence of community spread in the U.S.

Your administration has pledged to lead with public health, evidence and human rights in its response to COVID-19. Your travel bans, like the travel bans pursued by your predecessor, are inconsistent with that promise.

Extreme global inequities in COVID-19 vaccine and treatment access have created the conditions that allow variants such as Omicron to flourish. And travel bans not only cause harm to targeted countries—they also distract from the real work required to defeat COVID-19. We therefore call on you to:

- 1) Immediately lift the bans on travel from Mozambique, South Africa, Eswatini, Lesotho, Botswana, Namibia, Malawi and Zimbabwe to the United States and call on other governments to do the same;
- 2) Engage in all means of diplomatic and political pressure to secure a substantive waiver of intellectual property rights for vaccines and therapeutics for COVID-19, to overcome the deadlock and delay at the World Trade Organisation; and
- 3) Support the South Africa-WHO mRNA technology transfer hub, which will enable local mRNA vaccine production and serve as a learning site for global manufacturers, including by using your authority under law and contract to share NIH-Moderna vaccine information and technology with the world.

Signed,



































## Full list of organizational endorsers in alphabetical order:

Advocacy Network for Africa

Africa Faith and Justice Network

Black Activists Rising Against the Cuts (BARAC), UK

Be a Hero

California Trade Justice Coalition

Center for Public Health and Human Rights, Johns Hopkins University

Daily Kos

Foundation for Integrative AIDS Research (FIAR)

Fundación IFARMA, Colombia

**Good Nature Publishing** 

Health GAP

Health Justice

Hesperian Health Guides

Justice is Global

Kamukunji Paralegal Trust (KAPLET)

Oxfam America

Matahari Global Solutions

Midtown South Community Council

National Birth Equity Collective

Partners in Health

People's Action

People's Health Movement South Africa

Physicians for Human Rights

Public Citizen

PrEP4AII

**Progressive Doctors** 

**RESULTS** 

Right to Health Action

Society for International Development

Treatment Action Campaign (TAC), South Africa

Treatment Action Group (TAG)

Universities Allied for Access to Essential Medicines (UAEM)

University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics

Washington University in St. Louis

## Individual endorsers include:

Sean Flack MBChB FCA

Daniel Runde

Erick Otieno Owuor

Matthew Louw

Thoai Ngo, PhD

Brian Holden

Amanda Browne

Jen Balkus, PhD, MPH

Kari Fischer

Siri Holton, MD

Adam C Kaplan

Adrienne Shapiro, MD, PhD (Depts of Global Health and Medicine, Infectious Diseases, University of

Washington)

Kevin Hsu

Sharonann Lynch

Julian Drix, MPH

Dr. Andrew Schroeder

Cecilia Tomori

Zoey Thill, MD

Andrew Goldstein

Megan Wolff

**Gregg Gonsalves** 

Farris Haidary

Rebecca Zash

John Mudd

Maureen Luba

Theo Smart

Jodie G Katon, PhD, MS

Radhika Sundararajan, MD PhD

Francisco Rossi

Dr Katrina Green

Stephanie Gillette

Katie Kring

Magali Sanchez

Jennifer B Cowart, MD, SFHM, FACP

Mark Harrington

Marvin Bisanga

Sona Thomas

Liz Borkowski, MPH

Zita Holbourne

Coline Grunblatt

Nancy Connell

Thomas Scriba

**Shaun Mellors** 

Kevin Sullivan, MD

Mara Pillinger

Henna Shaikh

Chuma Kaunda

Leslye Heilig, M.D.

Claudia Marcela Vargas-Peláez

Reshma Ramachandran, MD, MPP

Christian Urrutia

Rachel Ann Bender Ignacio, MD MPH

Rajeev Kasat

Daniel Grossman, MD

Stefan Baral

Fernando Mariscal

Andrés Felipe Henao

Donna M DeMaria

Rebecca Leshan

Zach Radcliff

Amy lannone

Ayesha Shaw

Diane Hallinen, MD

Chetan Seshadri

Vernon Mochache

Sarah Kleinschmidt

Judith Lienhard

Joseph Walker

Yala Jo

Hilary Reno MD PhD

Zarek Burton

Martha Tholanah

Deborah Socolar

Elizabeth Boggs, MD MS

Anirudh Udutha

Elizabeth Joseph